The Milwaukee Area Piano Teachers Association, MAPTA, was established for the primary purpose of uniting piano teachers who reside in Wisconsin in an association that will stimulate professional relationships and musical growth.  The following activities support this Mission:

  • Foster and promote the interchange of ideas among members

  • Promote the study, development and application of improved teaching methods and practices

  • Collect and disseminate information of interest and benefit to members

  • Encourage the professional and ethical standards of piano teaching

  • Sponsor yearly Honors Track and Trophy Track Auditions & other vents for students of active members of MAPTA 

  • Sponsor the Young Artist Competition with cash awards for students

  • Sponsor Student Recitals




2019-2020 Board of Directors


     President:  Janet Blazek Acker

     First Vice President, Programs: Karen Bertucci

     Second Vice President, Membership:  Cathy Kliebenstein

     Treasurer:  Christine Weege

     Recording Secretary: Elizabeth Green

     Auditions Honors & Trophy Track: Christine Weege

     Auditions Young Artist Competition: Catherine Anwar

     Composition Judging:  Dana McCormick

     Historian:  Eileen Haeuser

     Past President:  Sam Ecoff

     Members at Large: Rick Saler & Kimberly Rosenau

     Web manager:  Janet Blazek Acker

MAPTA is affiliated with the Wisconsin Federation of Music Clubs and National Federation of Music Clubs. 

MAPTA is an educational, non-profit organization.







Teacher Workshop on Sunday, April 18th

with Dr. James Johnson

3:00 p.m. CST ~ 90 minute presentation on

"What to Teach in Place of ......"

Click here for more information.

  • Facebook Classic